Melbourne City crowned Foxtel NYL Champions

Melbourne City have been crowned the Foxtel NYL Champions after defeating Sydney FC.

Saturday, 28 January 2017

Staff writer

 Melbourne City FC are the Foxtel National Youth League 2017 Champions after a thrilling 3-2 win over Sydney FC in the season decider at Central Coast Stadium in Gosford this afternoon.

A penalty from Braedyn Crowley with literally the last kick of the game decided the result to give Melbourne City FC their second Foxtel National Youth League title.

In an enthralling end to end encounter, Melbourne City FC dominated the opening 45 minutes but only had a one goal advantage to show for it at half time when Crowley timed his run to perfection to latch onto Daniel Arzani’s cross and beat Mitchell Evans in the Sky Blues goal in the 22nd minute. Melbourne City FC would be made to rue their missed opportunities as Sydney FC drew level when George Timotheou was credited for poking the ball home although City defender Ruon Tongyik appeared to turn a Cristian Gonzalez free kick into his own net. The goal seemed to energise the Sky Blues and when substitute Charles Lokolingoy curled a cracking shot into the top corner in the 68th minute Sydney FC were in front and dreaming of claiming back-to-back Foxtel National Youth League title. But the twists and turns continued as Melbourne City FC won a penalty for a handball with ten minutes to go, Arzani converting from the spot to set up a grandstand finish. Both sides continue to create and spurn quality chances as cramp started to settle in on a number of players feeling the effects of the warm Gosford afternoon. Then just as extra time beckoned, Sydney FC substitute Liam McGing was adjudged to have handballed in the penalty area from a corner and with the resultant spot kick Crowley made no mistake to etch Melbourne City FC’s name on the trophy.

FOXTEL National Youth League 2017 Grand Final Melbourne City FC 3 (Crowley 22’, 90+11’ (pen), Arzani 81’ (pen)) Sydney FC 2 (Timotheou 58’, Lokolingoy 68’) Saturday 28 January 2016 Central Coast Stadium, Gosford Referee: Stephen Laurie Melbourne City FC starting line-up: 40.Yaren SOZER (gk) (c), 34.Denis GENREAU, 35.Christian CAVALLO, 36.Dylan PIERIAS, 37.Braedyn CROWLEY, 38.Paulo RETRE (55.Austin WONG 78’), 39.Ali EYIGUN (44.Jordon HALL 66’), 41.Ruon TONGYIK, 43.Daniel ARZANI, 46.Connor METCALFE, 49.Yusuf AHMED (50.Gerrie SYLAIDOS 45+2’) Substitutes not used: 42.James DELIANOV (gk) Yellow cards: Pierias 74’ Red cards: Nil Sydney FC starting line-up: 1.Mitchell EVANS (gk), 2.Brendan CURTIS (13.Liam McGING 90+6’), 3.Patrick FLOTTMANN, 4.George TIMOTHEOU, 9.Bai ANTONIOU (8.Juan ZAPATA 59’), 11.Chris ARDITTI, 14.Cristian GONZALEZ, 16.William MUTCH, 17.Chris ZUVELA (c), 19.George BLACKWOOD (12.Charles LOKOLINGOY 59’), 21.Andrea AGAMEMNONOS Substitutes not used: 20.Tom HEWARD-BELLE (gk) Yellow cards: Curtis 28’, Gonzalez 74’, Agamemnonos 80’, McGing 90+10’ Red cards: Nil

Football Federation Australia

Deixe um comentário

Preencha os seus dados abaixo ou clique em um ícone para log in:

Logo do

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Sair /  Alterar )

Foto do Facebook

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Facebook. Sair /  Alterar )

Conectando a %s

Este site utiliza o Akismet para reduzir spam. Saiba como seus dados em comentários são processados.