Western Sydney Wanderers confirm string of player departures

Michael Beauchamp won't be at the Wanderers next season after being released by the club.

Western Sydney Wanderers have confirmed a number of the club’s foundation players will not have their contracts renewed for next season.
Foundation captain Michael Beauchamp, Shinji Ono, Youssouf Hersi, Jerome Polenz, Adam D’Apuzzo, Jerrad Tyson, Aaron Mooy, Tahj Minniecon, Dean Heffernan and Josh Barresi have all parted company with the Wanderers following the conclusion of their contracts.
Ono, Mooy and Hersi have already signed with new clubs for next year but the axing of club captain Michael Beauchamp signals Tony Popovic’s intention to overhaul the Wanderers squad for next season.
Despite his disappointment, Beauchamp paid tribute to the Club and the fans for their support   throughout his stint at Parramatta Stadium.
“It has been an honour leading the boys out there every week and it’s been an honour coming to train here with the team week in week out,” said Beauchamp.
“We’ve shown in two years the level that we can take football to here in Australia, not only on the park but off the park with the community work, with the fans, with the RBB.
“For me it’s been an honour to represent this Club and I’d like to thank the fans and thesupporters.”
Consistent performers Adam D’Apuzzo and Jerome Polenz have surprisingly not been offered new contracts but will certainly attract interest from rival A-League clubs.
D’Apuzzo reignited his career at the Wanderers after spending a year out of the game and expressed his gratitude for the opportunity the club afforded him.
“The Wanderers would definitely be the highlight of my career. The way this Club is in terms of the fans, the setup, the group of boys, the staff it just makes everything we did just seem better than anything I’ve ever done in my career,” said D’Apuzzo.
“The fans here are second to none, even growing up watching football overseas I guess you see their crowds, but I don’t think they have the connection that we have with our fans.”
Utility Dean Heffernan announced his retirement, while little used reserves Jerrad Tyson, Tahj Minniecon and Josh Barresi have been told their services are no longer required by the club.
Western Sydney Wanderers Hyundai A-League squad for 2014/15: 1. Ante Covic, 2. Shannon Cole, 4. Nikolai Topor-Stanley, 7. Labinot Haliti, 8. Mateo Poljak, 9. Tomi Juric, 11. Brendon Santalab, 13. Matthew Spiranovic, 14. Kwabena Appiah, 15. Yianni Perkatis, 18. Iacopo La Rocca, 19. Mark Bridge, 23. Jason Trifiro, 31. Alusine Fofanah, 32. Daniel Alessi, 33. Daniel Mullen, 34. Golgol Mebrahtu
Hyundai A-League Club Memberships On Sale Shortly.
Be more than a fan, become a Member.
Click here to register your interest today! 
Source : Football Federation Australia

Deixe um comentário

Preencha os seus dados abaixo ou clique em um ícone para log in:

Logotipo do WordPress.com

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta WordPress.com. Sair /  Alterar )

Imagem do Twitter

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Twitter. Sair /  Alterar )

Foto do Facebook

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Facebook. Sair /  Alterar )

Conectando a %s

Este site utiliza o Akismet para reduzir spam. Saiba como seus dados em comentários são processados.